Student Zone » Student Council

Student Council


The student council are team of Pupils from different year groups who take care of all the problems around the academy which pupils are having. As a team we all come together at a meeting every 2 weeks to discuss the problems that pupils have given to our student council. The council tries to find solutions to these problems and discuss these with the relevant people.


The year reps are:

Year 7-Joshua Hartley and Laura Howard

Year 8 Lauren Caffrey and Ellen Howden and Kieran Tyler

Year 9- Autumn Brown and Joe Entwistle,

Year 10- Harry Stevenson and Lewis Aspden

Year 11-Meredith Strong and Georgia Mirfin and Jacob Whalley

Sixth Form- Abigail Booth and James Germaine


If you would like to contact the school council, there are many ways:

        Suggestion boxes

        School council email (

        Face to Face


        Form Tray

        Form Tutors


School Council "Highly Commended" by the House of Commons!

The school council are proud to share some fantastic success they have had recently! The council entered the Speaker's School Council Awards held by Speaker of the House of Commons, the Rt. Hon John Bercow and managed to earn recognition for being "Highly Commended" in the 11-16 category. The competition was entered by over 700 other councils so this is a superb achievement.

The council entered the competition with Bobble Day & the re-launch of the school council. This included raising over 2000 for Age UK Blackburn with Darwen, visiting local community centres to see how the money was spent, all whilst re-launching the council with who we are, what we do, posters, visiting assemblies, setting up and running a questionnaire, the launch of our suggestion boxes and improved communication between students and the reps!

Overall a superb achievement!

The council would like to thank all staff and students for their on-going support. 


Web design by Thomas Cole